The Themes of Independence Day

John Crichton

OK, I promised this a long while ago, but I've finally gotten around to cobbling something together. I've always been amazed at this score's thematic depth, and even more amazed that no one, to my knowlege, has never tried to really do any kind of analysis of it. It's not done, as there are quite a few minor reccuring motifs that I still need to get a solid hold on, but this is the most important stuff. Oh, and everyone knows I'm no expert, so I've misued a musical term or mis-identified an instrument please correct me. And feel free to comment on anything else too.

Major Themes

Main Theme – There’s really nothing else to call this theme as it has no specific associations, but definitely acts as the main theme in the score. A heroic fanfare, really rooted in an American patriotic sound. It first appears right at the start, over the opening shot of the moon plaque, and it’s biggest statement is in The President’s Speech. A common statement of it is a solo piccolo with a long pause between the 4th and 5th notes.

Russell Casse’s Theme – Your traditional rousing heroic fanfare, and possibly my personal favorite theme in the score. It’s introduced when the character is, but has very sparse usage after that, only really coming into play during the final act. It’s also the featured theme in the End Credits, being both the first and last thing played.

Hiller’s Theme – The most versatile theme in the score. It’s used as a soft character theme, a love theme, and another heroic fanfare.

The First Lady’s Theme – Another personal favorite. The theme is achingly beautiful and yet almost haunting, given the fate of the character. In another context and with minimal adjustment it would function perfectly well as a love theme. As it is it sounds like a love theme that’s been twisted into something tragic. This is the theme that is used as a perfect musical transition from July 2 to July 3.

The Aliens: