Williams Writes New Piece for Leonard Bernstein / Tanglewood Concert Dates Announced

John Williams will premiere a new work dedicated to Leonard Bernstein, the Boston Symphony Orchestra said Wednesday.

The orchestra announced its 2018 season at Tanglewood, which will be dedicated to the centennial of the birth of Bernstein.

A memorial concert taking place on August 19 will feature an original work by Williams for orchestra and cello, which will be played by Yo-Yo Ma. BSO music director Andris Nelsons will conduct the work.

According to a Variety article, the piece will be “a fantasia for cello, harp and orchestra” that will be premiered by the Boston Symphony Orchestra as part of the Leonard Bernstein Centennial.

Williams is calling it “Highwood’s Ghost” and is writing it for cellist Yo-Yo Ma and harpist Jessica Zhou. Highwood Manor House is a building on the Tanglewood campus that already houses a bust of Bernstein that Williams himself commissioned and was unveiled in 2014. “Lenny always insisted that Highwood was haunted,” Williams says. “We had many parties with him in that gorgeous old house.”

Williams will conduct other nights during the season, including the annual Tanglewood on Parade (August 7), John Williams’ Film Night (August 11), and a separate concert on August 25 in celebration of Bernstein.

Tickets to all Tanglewood events go on sale Sunday, January 28, 2018 to the general public.

John Williams’ Tanglewood 2018 schedule:

Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Boston Pops Orchestra, Boston Symphony Orchestra and Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra conducted by JOHN WILLIAMS, Charles Dutoit, Keith Lockhart and Bramwell Tobey – More details

Saturday, August 11, 2018
Boston Pops Orchestra, BSO and TMCO conducted by JOHN WILLIAMS and Andris Nelsons – More details

Saturday, August 25, 2018
Various performers and conductors including JOHN WILLIAMS. New work for cello and orchestra, performed by Yo-Yo Ma. – Premiered on August 19 with Andris Nelsons and Yo-Yo Ma. – More details

Discuss this topic in our forums: